REGULAR MEETING OF THE CARBON COUNTY PLANNING BOARD July 22, 2014 TUESDAY 7:00 PM

CARBON COUNTY COURTHOUSE 102 NORTH BROADWAY AVENUE RED LODGE, MT

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chairperson, Julie Jones called the meeting to order at 7:02 pm.

Those present:

Julie Jones

Diann Fischer Larson

David Alsager

John Francis

Gene Koch

Pete Critelli

Annette Anderson

Those absent:

Mike Schara

Kathy Burgener

Mike Creeden

Staff attending:

Brent Moore

Dave Dixon

II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion was made, seconded and passed, with one abstention, to approve the minutes of the June 17, 2014, Board meeting as prepared.

III. PUBLIC COMMENT

No members of the public were in attendance.

IV. ACTION ITEMS

Board member Kathy Burgener has not been able to regularly attend Board meetings due to health reasons. To be considered at the next meeting will be a motion to have her assume an inactive status; thus reducing the quorum for 9 active members to five.

V. BOARD AND STAFF DISCUSSION

Staff reviewed with the Board members the importance and usefulness of following Roberts Rules of Order in conducting meetings. Discussion items: Note: motions are always made in the affirmative. The handling of amendments can be difficult at times and do not hesitate to ask for assistance.

Growth Policy work session #4 – Development Regulations – please refer to the Carbon County website for the complete presentation.

Summary items:

- Development Regulations were first adopted in 1981 and revised in 1989. They were adopted under MCA 76-2, part 2, County Zoning.
- What they regulate: Any change in land use from the present use (as defined by the Carbon County Appraiser's Office) of agricultural, residential or recreational to commercial or industrial.
- At a minimum the following statement regarding development regulations must be included in the Growth Policy Update: "Development / Permit Regulations need to be updated."

VI. UPCOMING SCHEDULE

The Next Step: Public / Stakeholder Input – County Field Trip, August 4, 5, and 6th.

VII. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 8:12 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Diann Fischer Larson Board Secretary