April 29, 2021

April 29, 2021

Commissioners Scott Blain, Bill Bullock and Scott Miller; Administrative Officer Angela Newell; and Commissioners’ Secretary Barbara Krizek were present.

8:30 Pledge of Allegiance.

Commissioners attended a public information meeting hosted by the Detention Facility Citizen Committee last evening held at the Roberts School. In attendance were: Committee members Hal Lewis, Denise Rivette, Steven Thuesen, Jane Swanson Webb, and Gary Morseman; Spectrum Architects Gary Levine; Hulteng CCM Shane Swandal; Sheriff Josh McQuillan; Administrative Officer Angela Newell; Commissioners’ Secretary Barbara Krizek; and Deputy Clerk and Recorder Lola Ashby; Joyce Kober; Judy Morseman; DeeAnn DeVries; Carl DeVries; Beartooth Resource Conservation and Development Joel Bertolino; Kaylee Langager; Sam Langager; Francie Marble; Carbon County News Alastair Baker; Chris Pugrud; Richard Gorsuch; Roxanne Covy; Alan Stuber; and Sanford Langager. A panel presentation was given covering topics such as: the decades-long history regarding detention issues, transportation challenges to other counties with facilities, the nature of the crimes being committed and the warrants outstanding, the public safety challenges facing judges with few options for imposing detention on offenders, and construction and operating budgets. A public question and answer session concluded the meeting.
9:30 Red Lodge Mayor Bill Larson joined for the weekly update. A storm water tax is being added to water bills. The re-construction of the City pool is planned for this summer.

10:00 County Attorney Alex Nixon joined to discuss ongoing litigation. Discussion regarding the upcoming Detention Facility ballot measure; Nixon clarified that in order to vote on this issue, a voter must be a resident of Carbon County.

Commissioner Bullock moved to appoint Gabriela Syarova as Secretary of the Tax Appeal Board; Commissioner Blain seconded; motion carried.

10:30 Montana Association of Counties Property and Casualty Insurance Renewal joined by Account Representative Shannon Chamberlain and Heather Cope of HUB Insurance. Premiums will increase by 12%, partly due to adding more property/value to coverage. The County’s historic property and casualty loss ratio is favorable. Commissioner Bullock inquired about insuring the proposed Detention Facility; Newell and Chamberlain will coordinate regarding rates and potential premiums.

11:00 Craig Canfield and Forrest Sanderson of Kadrmas, Lee, and Jackson Architects joined the meeting to deliver their Statement of Qualifications for Planning Services for the Red Lodge Airport. Airport Board member Steve Smith in attendance.

11:35 Commissioner Blain departed the meeting.

12:00 Board of Health Meeting. In attendance: Commissioners Bill Bullock and Scott Miller; Administrative Officer Angela Newell; Commissioners’ Secretary Barbara Krizek; Disaster and Emergency Services Coordinator Cyrina Allen; Geospatial Information Systems Coordinator / Fire Warden Tom Kohley; Lori Kane; Public Health Roberta Cady, Sheila Boggio, Scott Walby, and Trey Jacobsen; Emergency Preparedness Jason Mahoney; Beartooth Hospital Brandi Mains, Holly Lucara, and Kelley Evans; Riverstone Health Breann Streck; Sheriff Josh McQuillan; Dick Nolan; Becky Frank; William Oley, MD; Stacie Warehime; and Jessica Schwend. Minutes from the January 14, 2021 meeting were approved (attached).

1:10 Adjourned.