NOTICE: Carbon County Development Permit On-line Application and Process Guide  

SB 442 Override Letter - April 6

August 1, 2019

August 1, 2019
Commissioners Robert ‘Pits’ DeArmond, Scott Blain, and Bill Bullock, and Administrative Officer Angela Newell were present.
8:30 Pledge of Allegiance
Commissioner Bullock moved to approve the Commissioners Closed Proceedings from July 18, 2019; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried.
Commissioner Bullock noted at the Area II Agency on Aging meeting he was informed about building issues at the Bridger Senior Center. They are looking for grant funds, but have let their non-profit status lapse.
Commissioners discussed correspondence with Shannon Shanholtzer Montana Association of Counties (MACo) Property Casualty Trust Administrator regarding jailing prisoners out of state. Shannon noted the current policy does not provide coverage for inmates housed in facilities that are not operated by a Montana County. She noted there are different statutes in different states that prevent the Trust from providing liability coverage for inmates housed out of state. Commissioners would like to raise the issue at the MACo Convention.
Commissioner Bullock moved to approve meeting minutes for July 22 and 25, 2019; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried.
9:45 Sanitarian Cortney Lynde met with Commissioners. Meeting closed to discuss personnel issue.
10:00 Meeting reopened. County Attorney Alex Nixon met with Commissioners. They discussed Mike Creeden’s request to change the name of Clark’s River Road; Commissioner Blain will respond to Mr. Creeden noting Yellowstone County requires 60% of affected landowners to sign a petition to change a road name, but that he may need to go through the State as it is a State Highway.
Commissioners signed the Agent Appointment and Agreement for the Edgar Sewer District’s Liability insurance through the Montana Association of Counties.
11:00 Mike Penfold, Jennifer Drinkwalter, Mike Booth, Kent Young, Angus Fuaton, Michael Fiebig with American Rivers, and Charles Drimal with the Greater Yellowstone Commission met with Commissioners to request support for Wild and Scenic River designations for the West Fork, Lake Fork, and main fork of Rock Creek. Carbon County News reporter Eleanor Guerrero was also present.

Commissioners also received letters of support from Mary Ellen Mangus the owner of Sylvan Peak Mountain Shop and Marek Rosin the owner of Adventure Whitewater. Mike and Charles reviewed mission and projects for American Rivers and Greater Yellowstone Coalition; both entities are part of the American Rivers Coalition. They noted they would like to protect streams’ free flowing nature and water quality noting the recreational appeal and importance to agriculture. All proposed river sections are on federal public lands within the Forest Service boundary and have been recognized as eligible for designation in Custer Gallatin Forrest Plan draft. Commissioner Blain asked about existing dam structures and effects on water rights. Existing structures would be grandfathered and could continue to be maintained. It was also clarified that the Act was crafted to preserve existing water rights. Participants spoke in support of the designation. Commissioner Blain emphasized the importance of irrigation water; Michael and Charles noted economic and lifestyle pieces noted importance of preserving downstream quality for ag. Commissioner Bullock moved to write a letter of support in favor of the designation of the West, Lake, and main forks of Rock Creek as wild and scenic rivers from their headwaters to the forest service boundary; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried.
Commissioner Bullock moved to approve the DNRC Cooperative Agreement; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried.
Commissioner Bullock moved to approve the Emergency Management Preparedness Grant (EMPG) Agreement; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried.
Commissioner Bullock moved to approve the DNRC Option 3 Agreement; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried.
12:00 Adjourned

Respectfully submitted: Angela Newell, Administrative Officer