February 25, 2020

February 25, 2020
Commissioners Robert ‘Pits’ DeArmond, Scott Blain, and Bill Bullock; Angela Newell, Administrative Officer; and Barbara Daniel, Commissioners’ Secretary were present.
8:30 Pledge of Allegiance
Ed Halland joined the meeting to discuss the Detention Facility. Halland inquired why the County isn’t using the Two Rivers Detention Facility in Hardin; Commissioner Bullock replied that Two Rivers was not built to national jail standards nor Montana Jail Standards, and therefore our inmates would be uninsurable by Montana Association of Counties. Commissioner Blain directed Halland to the County’s website (https://co.carbon.mt.us/construction-issues/detention-facility-planning/ ) which is the clearinghouse for all Detention Facility information. Discussion about the upcoming Pryor Mountain Wind Farm and its impact on the County.
9:00 Asset Management Policy Revision. Newell spoke to the benefits of amending the old policy to update the asset threshold from $200 to $1,000 to align it with the Department Head request policy and adding routing for inventory and insurance. Commissioner Bullock moved to approve Resolution 2020-05 Asset Management Policy; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried.
Commissioner Blain relayed that he spoke to the realtor for Norman and Geraldine Stevens about their property for the Detention Facility. The Stevens’s are asking for $20k in earnest money in exchange for 13 acres and the adjacent (North) street property. The adjacent property would provide an alternate access to the facility in addition to Hwy 212.
Commissioner Blain moved to appoint Chris Hardy for the position of Trustee for the Roscoe Fire District #5; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried. The appointment is for the remainder of Chris Hardy’s term expiring 5/31/2021.
10:00 Commissioner Bullock moved to approve Resolution 2020-06 Relating to Reimbursement of Appropriate Costs of the Board of County Commissioners of the Improvements to the County’s Anticipated New Detention Facility; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried.
Commissioner Bullock moved to approve Commissioners’ Proceedings for February 4, 5, 6, 11, and 13; Commissioner Blain seconded; motion carried.

Commissioners discussed holding upcoming Commissioner meetings in farther reaches of the County—Belfry (March 19), Whitehorse (April 23), Roscoe (May 21), and Edgar (June 11). In addition to conducting regular business, they will address public questions/concerns regarding the upcoming Detention Facility ballot measure.
11:00 Safety Committee Meeting. Rick Martin, Annie Gillespie, Tom Kohley, Cortney Lynde, Lola Ashby, Lori Lynde, Tessa Brangers, Pam Schwend, and Nikki Bailey in attendance. Meeting minutes approved and attached from December 17, 2019. Commissioner Bullock departed at 11:15.
12:00 Adjourned

Respectfully submitted: Barbara Daniel, Commissioners’ Secretary