NOTICE: Carbon County Development Permit On-line Application and Process Guide  

SB 442 Override Letter - April 6

January 28, 2020

January 28, 2020
Commissioners Robert ‘Pits’ DeArmond, Scott Blain, and Bill Bullock, Commissioners’ Secretary Barbara Daniel, and Administrative Officer Angela Newell were present.
8:30 Pledge of Allegiance.
Red Lodge Area Community Foundation (RLACF) Director Tracy Timmons met with Commissioners for public comment period. She is looking for the best way to increase communication with the Commissioners as the Foundation expands their programs across the County. Commissioners and staff did not feel they had to time to sit on the RLACF Board of Directors, but suggested that they would be willing to attend meetings quarterly to receive updates. Tracy and Commissioners discussed the transportation plan; Commissioners noted they have concerns about long term sustainability of the plan and that the County does not want to pick up the costs of sustaining the program if funding dries up. Commissioner DeArmond also noted his concerns with giving people a ride to Billings to spend money they would otherwise spend in small town businesses.
9:00 Clerk and Recorder Christine Stovall met with Commissioners for the Public Hearing on the Petition to Abandon a Portion of Whitehorse Road North. Commissioner Blain presented the road viewers report recommending the petition be granted and the portion of the road being abandoned. Commissioner Blain also noted Northwestern Energy did not have any concerns about the abandonment. Commissioner DeArmond moved to accept the road viewers report as presented and Order the road closed; Commissioner Bullock seconded; motion carried.
9:30 DES Coord. / Fire Warden Tom Kohley and Deputy Clerk and Recorder Accounts Payable Clerk Crystal Roascio met with Commissioners to discuss the adoption of a procurement policy. Commissioners would like to keep the department head authority at $1,000; set the small purchase threshold at $5,000 for all departments except road at $25,000; and set large purchase thresholds at $80,000 as required by statute. Angela and Tom will revise language and present it for adoption
10:30 Interstate Engineering Regional VP Brent Moore and Engineer Chuck Strum met with Commissioners regarding the Pryor Mountain Road Bridge Bid Documents. They discussed the construction schedule; Commissioners would like the due date moved back as June 1 is the date it has to be completed per the Road Preparation Agreement with PacifiCorp. It Liquidated damages are included in the contract if the project is not completed on time. Commissioners would like to move due date up two weeks and add an incentive to complete the bridge replacement ahead of schedule.

11:05 Carbon County News reporter Eleanor Guerrero joined the meeting.
11:35 Commissioner Bullock moved to adopt Resolution 2020-03 for Intent to Hold Bond Election August 4, 2020 for the construction of a Detention Facility; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried.
Commissioner Bullock moved to approve commissioners Proceedings for January 9, 2020; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried.
12:15 Break for lunch.

6:00 The meeting was reconvened as a joint meeting with the Detention Facility Community Advisory Committee meeting at the Bridger Senior Center. Sheriff Josh McQuillan, Architect Gary Levine, Beartooth RC&D Executive Director Joel Bertolino, Economic Development Director Steve Simonson, Finance Director Jillann Knutson, Melvin Hoferer, Steve Thuesen, Gary Morsemen, Hal Lewis, Jane Swanson-Webb, Gary Foechterle, Amber Foechterle, Shelly Thompson, Pete Critelli, Bob Adkins, Marilyn Adkins, Melvin Haisler, Albert Foos, Joan Miller, Chirs Miller, Chilford Shulz, Rhonda Buechler, Charles Buechler, Tim Nottingham, and Carol Jones were present. Joel opened up nominations for Committee Officers. Hal Lewis offered to be Chair, Jane Swanson-Webb offered to be Vice Chair, and Amber Foechterle offered to be Secretary/Treasurer. The Committee approved the appointments as offered. Commissioner Blain reviewed the four final sites. Gary Levine reviewed the site selection matrix. After some discussion the Committee recommended the Stevens site in Joliet as the recommended site for the facility. The Jones property in Fromberg was recommended as an alternative.


Respectfully submitted: Angela Newell, Administrative Officer