NOTICE: Carbon County Development Permit On-line Application and Process Guide  

SB 442 Override Letter - April 6

June 14, 2018

June 14, 2018
Commissioners Robert ‘Pits’ DeArmond, Scott Blain, and Bill Bullock, and Administrative Officer Angela Newell were present.
8:30 Pledge of Allegiance.
Commissioner DeArmond moved to approve Justice Court End of Period Disbursement for May 2018; Commissioner Blain seconded; motion carried.
9:00 Rick Martin and Jamie Ostwald met with Commissioners regarding the building budget, building maintenance items, and to review their job descriptions. Discussed transition over the next several years with Rick looking at retirement.
10:00 County Attorney Alex Nixon and Civil Deputy Jacque Papez met with Commissioners. Both insurers have denied Industrial Communication’s claim regarding the Simulcast Radio system. The insurers believe they were not put on proper notice by Industrial; their attorney is looking at other coverage options. Commissioner Blain moved to file the complaint against Industrial Communications and Electronics for the Simulcast Radio System; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried. Attorney’s noted in the Burgen case the County has filed a 12(b)(6) Motion to Dismiss and are waiting on the Court to rule. Alex noted they are waiting on a response from Park County WY’s attorney regarding entering into an interlocal agreement for emergency response at county level; Commissioner DeArmond noted he has talked to the Park Co. Sheriff who is in favor of the agreement especially for incidents on the Beartooth Pass. Parties will need to discussed medical direction for first responders.
10:40 Annie Gillespie met with Commissioners regarding floodplain fees. Compared to other counties Carbon’s fees are significantly lower for violations and variances. DES Coord. / GIS Mgr. Tom Kohley was present. Commissioners agreed it may be a good idea to increase after the fact fees to try and encourage people to properly permit. Annie and commissioners also discussed the Lidar study state will be performing on Rock Creek.
Commissioners discussed having DES or someone else assist with tracking County expenses when responding to disasters.
11:00 Department Head meeting. Treasurer/Supt. Schools Jane Swanson Webb, DES Coord. / GIS Mgr. Tom Kohley, Victim Advocate Tessa Brangers, Floodplain Administrator Annie Gillespie, Justice of the Peace Kevin Nichols, Clerk and Recorder Marcia Henigman, Sanitarian Josh Juarez, Sheriff Josh McQuillan, and Clerk of District Court Rochelle Loyning were present. Department Heads and Commissioners discussed the Allegiance Flexible Benefits Plan, the revised Hiring Policy which now requires background checks for new full-time permanent employees, sick leave use, and asset inventory tracking.
June 14, 2018 (cont.)
Commissioners and department heads discussed the Space Needs Assessment prepared by Spectrum Group Architects. Offices in the Court House have about half the space needed based on staffing levels and job functions. Commissioners and department heads discussed options to increase space including building a new facility, leasing space, and the funding mechanisms available for construction including bonds, loans, or cooperating with another public entity to build a joint facility. They also discussed parking issues. Department Heads agreed it was not feasible to try to relocate all county offices into one space and made sense to focus on Court House offices for the time being. Commissioners will also start discussions with owners of vacant lots in the vicinity of existing buildings.
12:15 Commissioner Blain moved to appoint Valarie Eisner to a four-year term on the Roberts Water and Sewer Board and to appoint Stephanie Sukow and Rob Robinson to a two-year term on the Joliet Rural Fire board, and Trish Eik to a three-year term on the Joliet Rural Fire board; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried. Noted history of farming which will cese, surrounding property will mostly remain as farming.

12:25 Meeting closed to discuss personnel issue.

Respectfully submitted: Angela Newell, Administrative Officer