June 27, 2023

June 27, 2023
Commissioners Scott Miller, Scott Blain, and Administrative Officer Angela Newell were present.
8:30 Pledge of Allegiance.
8:50 Public Comment. Cory Thompson from the Red Lodge Sustainability Board offered to write a grant for the County to put solar on CedarWood as part of the remodel of the building. Grant would be due Nov. 1.

9:00 Cedarwood Preliminary Design. Sanitarian Director Barbara Krizek, GIS Manager / Fire Warden Tom Kohley, Treasurer Lori Lynde, Deputy Treasurer Leah Niemi, Clerk and Recorder Macque Bohleen, DES Coordinator Cyrina Allen, Sanitarian/Supt. Schools Admin Lori Kane, Building Maintenance Coordinator Mike Schilz, Sanitarian Jesse Gutierrez, Kathy Sommerfeld from the Red Lodge Food Bank, and Tim Jager and Levi Van Buggenum from the ARETE Design Group were present. Jager gave an overview of the purpose of today’s meeting which is to look at the space needs and available space in the current structure. Van Buggenum noted they are trying to group three functions together: law and justice (courts); administration (Commissioners, Treasurer, and Clerk and Recorder); and planning (Environmental Health, DES, GIS, Planning). Discussed the need for parking, possible reconfiguration of the building’s entry points, the space needs for each department, common and shared spaces, and the possibility of accommodating the Red Lodge food bank. Krizek commented on safety and security concerns with too many access points and the need to plan space for Planning and Floodpain offices in the future. Discussion of entry points; which would be public vs. private; separate entrance for law/justice and other components.

10:00 Dept. Head Meeting. Commissioner Bullock joined the meeting DES Coordinator Cyrina Allen, Building Maintenance Coordinator Mike Schilz, Public Health Director Erin Cross, Treasurer Lori Lynde, GIS Manager / Fire Warden Tom Kohley, Clerk and Recorder Bohleen, HR Specialist Kate Asbury, Extension Agent Carrie Guderjahn, Weed District Coordinator Brian Ostwald, Sanitarian Director Barbara Krizek, Clerk of District Court Rochelle Loyning, and Sheriff Josh McQuillan were present. Asbury reviewed upcoming Montana State Fund Work Comp trainings and requested each department sent one employee to attend. Asbury reviewed policy changes. Newell reviewed the recently adopted Procurement Policy and Commissioners Administrative and HR Procedures Policy as well as changes to the Travel Policy. Bohleen reminded Department Heads that the deadline for claims submission is the 25th of the month, this policy will be enforced and exceptions will require Commissioner Approval.

Discussed Joliet Property Grazing Lease. Bullock moved to amend the language of the Grazing Lease to extend the termination date to October 31st or the closing date of the property sale whichever is later; Blain seconded; motion carried.

11:00 HR Specialist Kate Asbury met to discuss Personnel Policy changes. Bullock moved to adopt changes to Personnel Policy as presented; Blain seconded; motion carried.

11:15 Bullock moved to close the meeting to discuss a personnel issue; Blain seconded; motion carried.

11:30 Meeting reopened. Bullock moved to approve the purchase request to send Sabrina Pratt to Paralegal school and supplies; Blain seconded; Commissioners discussed the significant cost of the certification program and that a Paralegal Certificate was not required for the position; motion failed.

Bullock moved to accept Justice Court End of Period Detail for May; Blain seconded; motion carried.

12:00 Lunch

1:00 Airport Board Meeting. Steve Smith, Merrill Pfeifer, Bo Ewald, Red Lodge Airport Manager Jeff Wise, Red Lodge City Mayor Kristen Cogswell, Red Lodge Council Members Terry Durbin and Kristen Keys, Red Lodge Public Works Brian Hannah, Red Lodge City Attorney Dennison Butler, Lola Ashby, Bill Barnes, Drew Daniels, Barbara Krizek, Andy Teetzel, and Mike Keys were in attendance

2:35 Adjourned.

Respectfully submitted: Angela Newell, Administrative Officer