March 11, 2019

March 11, 2019
Commissioners Robert ‘Pits’ DeArmond, Scott Blain, and Bill Bullock, and Administrative Officer Angela Newell were present.
8:30 Pledge of Allegiance
Mary Cameron and Ann Genereux met with Commissioners. Ann is the new counselor at the Mental Health Center.
PJ Bertolino met with Commissioners regarding Floodplain permit concerns. He has received some complaints regarding Floodplain permit process for irrigation maintenance. Commissioners confirmed, head gate maintenance does not require a floodplain permit. PJ and Commissioners reviewed some discrepancies between the statutory language and language from the DNRC model floodplain regulations adopted by the County regarding items exempt from floodplain permits.
10:30 DES Coord. / GIS Mgr. Tom Kohley met with Commissioners for his monthly update (report attached). He noted the Red Lodge City Council voted not to declare an emergency after the emergency meeting last week; following the meeting the Mayor issued an emergency declaration. Tom noted his frustration that the City of Red Lodge Attorney did not welcome Tom’s comments and direction regarding the process of declaring an emergency through DES. Tom thanked Commissioners for sending him to the radio conference last week, he learned a lot and would like to re-assess priorities and backup for mission critical communications and develop a long range plan for county road crew communications.
11:30 Commissioners received an email from Red Lodge City Planner Neil Matthews-Pennanen regarding the creation of a parks district. Commissioners discussed feedback they have received regarding creating a parks district; it has been mostly unfavorable. Commissioners would like to see a citizen petition for the creation of the parks district to demonstrate the district has public support before a resolution of intent is passed. They have also had feedback regarding complications with the formation of a joint district for the Red Lodge Cemetery and see potential issues with the creation of a joint parks district. Commissioners believe it would be better if the City formed their own parks district, unless they can come forward with a petition that includes county taxpayers that would be subject to the district.
Commissioner DeArmond moved to appoint to the Clarks Fork Valley TV District board Doreen Fusco for a three-year term and Brad Lindgren for the remainder of Wally Lindgren’s term set to expire 12/31/2020; Commissioner Bullock seconded; motion carried.

12:00 Adjourned