March 17, 2020

March 17, 2020
Commissioners Scott Blain and Bill Bullock and Commissioners’ Secretary Barbara Daniel were present; Tai Koester, Carbon County Resource Council, joined via teleconference.
8:30 Pledge of Allegiance
Becky Gray of Carbon County Resource Council joined the meeting recommending that the Commissioners adopt the Growth Policy presented this morning.
Commissioner Bullock moved to approve Justice Court Disbursements ending on February 28, 2020; Commissioner Blain seconded; motion carried.
Gordon Sirrine joined via teleconference at 8:55 and reported that the Detention Facility Citizen Advisory Committee (CAC) meeting in Fromberg was cancelled last night, and he and a few others were not made aware; Bullock will contact CAC Board to make sure contact lists are up-to-date. Sirrine asked about the accuracy of the jail information that was reported in last week’s Carbon County News, specifically regarding cost.
Pastor Lee Merck of Church of the Rockies and Zach Graham of Cushing Terrell Architects joined via teleconference.
9:00 County Planner Forrest Mandeville presented the draft revised Carbon County Growth Plan and detailed changes from the 2015 Growth Plan such as: the Laurel-Rockvale Hwy 212 re-alignment, the Pryor Mountain Wind Farm, the proposed Detention Facility, tourism vs. non-tourism areas of the County, wildlife habitat, Wildland-Urban Interface development considerations, and others. Commissioner Blain presented a question about set-backs in the floodplain as addressed in the draft Plan.
Mandeville stated that Commissioners have the option to adopt, revise, reject or refer the Plan to a County vote.
Julie Holzer, Carbon County Resource Council, joined via teleconference and thanked the Carbon County Planning Board and supported the revised Growth Plan. Sirrine echoed support of the Plan in its current form.
Commissioner Bullock asked for a wildlife addition to the Plan given the management response to Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) in ungulates. During the hunting season of 2018, there was a special hunt for CWD; in 2019 Carbon County was not a concentrated surveillance area; and no further surveillance or special action is required at this time. 9:20 Commissioner DeArmond joined the meeting.

Commissioner Bullock moved to approve Resolution 2020-11 Adopting an Update to the 2015 Growth Policy in accordance with MCA 76-1-604, with the one addition to address CWD; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried.
9:30 Zach Graham, on behalf of Cushing Terrell Architects, presented a contract renewal. Commissioner Blain moved to renew the contract with Cushing Terrell Architects for planning services; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried. Commissioner Blain praised Mandeville’s services while working under their contract.
Commissioner DeArmond provided an update on the Pryor Mountain Wind Farm project stating that the quarry and the wind farm are discussing right-of-way and egress onto Railbed Road. Wind farm representatives indicated that equipment will come from South.
9:45: Graham, Mandeville, and Sirrine left the meeting.
Discussion about COVID-19 and deterring visitors from Yellowstone County from coming to Red Lodge to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day.
Commissioner Blain moved to rescind Resolution 2020-08 Changing the location of the March 19th Commissioner Meeting to Belfry School; Commissioner Bullock seconded; motion carried.
Commissioner Blain moved to approve Resolution 2020-10 Declaring a Carbon County Public Health Emergency; Commissioner Bullock seconded; motion carried. The declaration will allow for access to Federal funds as they become available.
Commissioner Blain moved to approve the Cooperative Law Enforcement Agreement with Custer-Gallatin National Forest; Commissioner Bullock seconded; motion carried.
Commissioner Bullock moved to approve Employee Time; Commissioner DeArmond seconded; motion carried.
Commissioner Bullock moved to approve the FFY 2020-2021 Emergency Management Performance Grant (EMPG) Funding Commitment Letter; Commissioner Blain seconded; motion carried.
10:25 Red Lodge Mayor Bill Larson, Sheriff Josh McQuillan, and Dave Stauffer joined the meeting in-person and City Attorney Becky Narmore, Chief of Police Jason Wells and Gordon Sirrine joined the meeting via teleconference. Commissioner Bullock gave an update on the COVID-19 restaurant closures directed by County Health Officer Bill George, MD. Larson reported that he spoke with many restaurant owners today who they said they were expecting the closures and were receptive and supportive.
10:40 COVID-19 Incident Management Team (IMT) Public Information Officers Maggie Karas and Amy Hyfield joined the meeting. Karas reported no known cases of COVID-19 in Carbon County, but that testing is being conducted. 10:45 Disaster and Emergency Services Coordinator and COVID-19 IMT Leader Tom Kohley joined meeting. Further discussion about COVID-19 response in the County.
11:40 Bridger Road Crew member Matt Lammiman joined the meeting.
11:45 Sirrine asked Commissioner Blain for clarifications regarding the Detention Facility article in last week’s Carbon County News.
11:55 Meeting closed to discuss personnel issue.
12:10 Meeting re-opened and adjourned.
1:00 Continuity of Government Meeting regarding COVID-19. Attending in-person were: Larson, Karas, Hyfield, Kohley, and co-Incident Commander Jason Mahoney. Teleconferencing were: Montana State University Extension Agent Nikki Bailey, Sanitarian Cortney Lynde, Clerk and Recorder Christine Stovall, and Red Lodge City Council President Dave Westwood, and Joliet Mayor Dakota Mitchum. Commissioner Bullock provided an update of what is being done at the County level with business as usual with reductions in hours/staffing. Commissioner Blain communicated that the County will deviate from MACo’s recommendations if an employee is quarantined; a Carbon County employee will not be required to use Sick Leave if quarantined.
Bullock highlighted the Continuity of Government Plan. Mitchum asked about government subsidies to help closed restaurants/bars; at this time, none are available. The Plan will be sent to municipalities who should then identify the succession of authority in each department.
2:45 Meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted: Barbara Daniel, Commissioners’ Secretary