Carbon County Development Permit Package

SB 442 Override Letter - April 6

March 30, 2023

March 30, 2023
Commissioners Scott Miller, Scott Blain, and Bill Bullock; and Administrative Officer Angela Newell were present.
8:30 Pledge of Allegiance.
Michael Gebhardt came in during public comment and spoke to us about the Roberts Water and Sewer project. He wanted to know about funding and water rates across the county with other towns. We directed him to go talk to the other towns to see what they were dealing with.
Epinephrine and Narcan school program approval motion was made by Commissioner Bullock and seconded by Commissioner Blain, no comments and all voted for the motion.
0900 The Red Lodge Mayor Kristen Cogswell, and Red Lodge City council members Terri Durbin, Jody Ronning, and Shinta Daniels met for the City’s regular meeting. The conversation began with Terri and the question of flood mitigation for the City of Red Lodge and what, if anything, the county might be helping with. The Mayor commented on the fact that the City has to wait to see what kind of flooding happens. Terri asked the Mayor if she had any plans to mitigate with sandbags or anything else to help divert water if a flood happens. The Mayor said she did not at this time. We talked about the liability of flood plain insurance and whether FEMA or private insurance with all of the members of the city government in the meeting. The Mayor noted the City is having a meeting on the 31st at 1800 at the Carbon County Historical Society and Museum to talk about permits and DEQ is going to be at the meeting. The Mayor left the meeting at 0915. Commissioner Miller informed the City Council members that the County DES Coordinator is not the Red Lodge City DES Coordinator. Jody and Terri said that they are being told that the County DES is the Red Lodge DES coordinator.
A motion was made by Commissioner Blain to remove the Red Lodge City meeting time from the Commissioners’ agenda on Thursdays. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Bullock and approved by all three commissioners.
12:00 Adjourned.