May 16, 2023

May 16, 2023
Commissioners Scott Miller, Scott Blain; and Administrative Officer Angela Newell were present.
8:30 Pledge of Allegiance.
Commissioners discussed the application of Dust Control.
9:00 Blain moved to close the meeting to discuss personnel issue; Miller seconded; motion carried.
9:20 The meeting was reopened.
10:00 Disaster and Emergency Services (DES) Coordinator Cyrina Allen and Deputy Clerk and Recorder/Accounts Payable Clerk Piney Helmuth met for the DES preliminary budget. Discussed the addition of a permanent position for a Public Information Officer. Also discussed was Allen’s overtime due to the State’s debris removal program.
10:30 Sheriff Josh McQuillan, Allen, and Helmuth met to discuss the Public Safety preliminary budget. Discussed increases to clothing allotments, costs associated with new deputies, and costs associated with bringing the Alternative Detention program in-house.
11:30 McQuillan, Allen, and Helmuth met to discuss the preliminary budget for 911 Dispatch and Communications. Discussed the construction of 3 new radio towers Joliet (weed shop), Roscoe (Hash), Warren (Loyning) to help fill gaps in coverage. Discussed the State radio trunking system; the Shane Ridge and Greeno Towers will cover about 90% of the County for law enforcement but does not provide coverage for Fire/EMS. Discussed the increases in portable and mobile radio costs and the need to replace radios for almost all emergency responders county-wide.
1:00 Bob K, Chris Showalter, Alexis Sundheim, Tyler Lindbloom, and Brent Moore met for the Dorvall corner bid opening. Lindbloom reviewed bids received:
Montana Civil Contractors $375,088
Site Pro Construction $692,345
Interstate Engineering will review bid responses and provide a recommendation for award next week.

1:30 Justice of the Peace Kevin Nichols met with Commissioners to request to increase the vacant Clerk position to full-time 40 hours per week and to re-advertise. Blain moved to approve hiring; Miller seconded; motion carried.
12:00 Adjourned.

Respectfully submitted: Angela Newell, Administrative Officer