May 26, 2022

May 26, 2022
Commissioners Scott Miller, Scott Blain, and Bill Bullock; and Administrative Officer Angela Newell were present.
8:30 Pledge of Allegiance.
James McGregor met with Commissioners for Public Comment. Discussed recreational marijuana; petition to repeal legalization; and Yellowstone County recreational marijuana sales (largest tax contributor of all Counties).
9:00 HR Specialist Kate Asbury met with Commissioners regarding health insurance contribution increases. Bullock moved to make insurance increase contribution effective June 1st when premium increases affect paychecks; Blain seconded; motion carried.
Commissioners discussed TID District in Red Lodge; looking at Software Module for Black Mountain Tax Assessments that would calculate taxes for the district. Cost is $5,400/year; discussion about how the software will be financed.
10:00 County Attorney Alex Nixon met for his weekly meeting. Clerk and Recorder Christine Stovall and Election Administrator Crystal Roascio were in attendance to discuss their concerns with election judges. Nixon requested the letter removing judges be sent to both the Montana Association of Counties and Commissioner of Political Practices for review.
10:30 Extension Agent Nikki Bailey met with Commissioners for her Preliminary Budget. Bailey had minimal changes.

11:20 Denise Revette met with Commissioners regarding school safety.

11:30 Becky and Ken Nelson met with commissioners to request a waiver of the Encroachment Fee. Their daughter and family will be moving to Cameroon to teach for two years and they would like to close the street to throw them a farewell party; Bullock requested an Encroachment Permit be obtained to alleviate the County of any liability. Roberts Cultural Council has also requested fees be waived for street closures related to the rocking Roberts event. Bullock moved to waive encroachment fees for Nelson and Roberts Cultural Council encroachment permits for street closures; Blain seconded; motion carried.

12:00 Break for lunch.

1:00 Road Crew Interview Will Graber

2:00 Road Crew Interview Nick Teesdale

2:30 Road Crew Interview Jeff Day


Respectfully submitted: Angela Newell, Administrative Officer