NOTICE: Carbon County Development Permit On-line Application and Process Guide  

SB 442 Override Letter - April 6

October 14, 2021

October 14, 2021
Commissioners Scott Miller, Scott Blain, and Bill Bullock; and Administrative Officer Angela Newell were present.
8:30 Pledge of Allegiance.
Jim Ransdell met with Commissioners regarding construction for property south of Red Lodge. Krizek confirmed the property needs DEQ rewrite, which was approved, waiting on Group 1 Dev permit approval before septic can be permitted.
9:15 Miller moved to approve the cooperative purchasing agreement; Bullock seconded; motion carried.
9:18 Meeting closed for personnel issue.

9:40 Meeting reopened.

10:30 Justice of the Peace Kevin Nichols met with Commissioners to discuss his office staffing. He would like to start advertising his open position; originally had proposed a reduction in force, but is rethinking that request. Nichols reviewed case numbers in 2017 compared to 2021; civil and criminal cases year to date are up about 25-30%. Nichols noted his earlier evaluation had only considered ticket numbers not case types. Other similarly sized counties have a minimum of 2 FTE clerks. Nichols also noted backlog in closing out cases in Full Court; when transition was made from paper to electronic; the process to close out cases in digital system was not properly executed. Discussion regarding Clerk scheduling; Pihl has requested 4 10s. Would anticipate new hire working 5 8s; Commissioners would like to keep employees on same work schedule for now. Bullock noted issues and new computer system is a good opportunity for Nichols to better learn computer system for better office back fill. Nichols plans on taking training for computer system. Blain moved to approve the request to fill the open position working 5 8hr days; Miller seconded; motion carried.

11:00 Airport Board Meeting. Merrill Pfeifer, Gary Herem, Steve Smith, Jeffrey Wise, Andy Teetzel, and Barbara Krizek were present. Bullock moved to approve August 12, 2021 Airport Board minutes; Miller seconded; motion carried.

12:00 Board of Health Meeting. Lori Kane, Jean Atherly, Mary Cameron, Karen Clayson, Public Health Officer Cyrina Allen, Public Health Coordinator Erin Cross, Sanitarian in Training Barbara Krizek , Stacie Warehime, William Oley, Undersheriff Jeff Schmalz, Holly Lucara, Brandi Mains, and Medical Director Cindy Swan were present.
October 14, 2021 (cont.)
Warehime moved to approve June 29, 2021 Meeting Minutes; Blain seconded; motion carried.

12:45 Adjourned.

Respectfully submitted: Angela Newell, Administrative Officer